New article published

I have an article published in this month’s issue of Island Parent magazine.  You can check it out here:  http://issuu.com/islandparent/docs/june12?mode=window&backgroundColor#222222  (page 60; page 63 on the viewer).  It is the second article I’ve had published by this magazine, the first article being published in the June 2011 issue.

This current article is titled “Gender Assumptions.”  I submitted it in January, and it was accepted for publication in late May.

Upon reviewing the article before assenting to its publication in May, I had a concern that it was too focused on the gender-binary.  I realize there is a broader spectrum of gender than just girl/boy; however, I’m not sure quite how I would have added that realization to this article.  I was concerned that I would offend certain individuals by failing to mention the broader  spectrum of gender.  Perhaps that is another article in itself.

I am pleased to have gotten published again.  I am also working on arranging something exciting for later this month.  (More details will come once I work them out.)

Leave a Reply

