NaPoWriMo #15

I wrote this poem after work about my walk to the bus stop.  A lovely day.

Bus Stop Walk

The cedar hedge reaches out
yellow-green fingers
to brush my coat like a passing friend.
The vehicular noise has picked up
from morning’s calm
to an eager rumble,
making birdsong a whisper
as cowbirds and crows seek lunch
on sidewalks and in parking lots.
A cool wind shivers through me,
but the sun       the sun
makes the world shine and gleam,
such promises opened
such excitement in the light
of a star
a moment to pause                  waiting
and writing
_________ in the light.

(WordPress generally works fine for me as far as my mid-line breaks.  For some reason, it did not like my line spacing for the last line of this poem; so I had to do an atrocious underline thing to make the spacing look right for the line.)

© 2013 Robin A. Sams

Leave a Reply

