NaPoWriMo #14

I started this poem a couple days ago but did not finish it until now due to a serious mood crash.  Anyway, here goes:

I wandered the edges of our woods
afraid of ticks and of falling down hills
broken sticks
watching honeysuckle nectar slide down stamens
sucking the sweet
a fear of bikes leading to my Popsicle Girl scooter
riding over maple tree roots
around the house around
I’m a trucker with deliveries to make,
I’m a princess on her steed (more She-Ra
than Cinderella).
Then there came a pool in-ground
pool parties and skinny dipping alone.
A pirate flag declaring our oasis there.
Inner tube burn on the armpits,
splashing away horseflies.
A jumble of summers,
a litany of I am.

© 2014 by Robin A. Sams

Leave a Reply

