Big Poetry Giveaway 2015

This year, I am taking part in the Big Poetry Giveaway.  I am giving away a copy of my book Sore: fantasies and inhibitions (Crow’s Eye Press, 2014) and Dis ease and De sire by Kim Clark (#67 of a 75-copy run and signed by the author).  You have from now until April 30, 2015 at midnight PST to leave a comment with your name and e-mail address.  In the first week of May, I will draw from those names a winner of my book and a winner of the second book and mail the books to the winners.

Sorecover1

Sore: fantasies and inhibitions is a collection of poems exploring the emotional dynamics of romantic/sexual relationships.  Desire, lust, longing, love, playfulness and an underlying current of exploring who one is and what one wants winds its way through the words in this book.

DiseaseandDesirebookcover

Kim Clark is a local Vancouver Island writer.  From her website: “Here’s a woman who didn’t start writing until after she’d passed her fortieth birthday and had been diagnosed with progressive Multiple Sclerosis.” This manuscript deals with the collision of disease with human desire.

Here’s a sample favourite stanza from “Ghost of a spider poem:”

“the trouble with tender
is the small word contained there
enveloped in empty letters.”

Here’s a little about me for those readers new to my blog:

What I write:  mostly poetry, but I have had a fantasy novel brewing in the back of my head for several years now.  That novel is finally beginning to spill over onto pages.

What I read: fantasy novels (currently reading Kushiel’s Dart), poetry, biographies (individual lives are so interesting), quantum physics (finding beauty in the weird and the so, so small), and vegan cookbooks.  I am also currently reading Terry Pratchett’s non-fiction collection A Slip of the Keyboard.

I champion animal rights, kindness to others and Others, equal rights, and continual learning.

My writing goals currently are to write daily (although I was too busy last week for much writing and am feeling the drain of that fact) and to submit two pieces a week (this goal also has fallen apart the last couple weeks due to life stuff) until April (when I will be taking part in NaPoWriMo).  After that and probably during that, my novel is starting to blossom; I am itching to write it.

If this is your first time visiting my blog, welcome.  To all:  Enjoy your stay.  Share your thoughts.  And thank you.

27 thoughts on “Big Poetry Giveaway 2015

  1. I would really like to read Fantasies and Inhibition. I have started writing poetry under the theme Not Exactly Love Poetry and would love to read your ideas about love. Dis ease and De sire sounds wonderfully like a book that would have plenty of emotions.

  2. Thank you for participating in this giveaway! I just love the idea behind it. And it’s such a great way to discover new poets.

  3. Both books would be very welcome for summer reading. Thanks for participating and giving me this opportunity.

  4. Sorry I didn’t get in on this drawing sooner.
    I swear I will keep an eye on your blog, now that I have stumbled onto it.

Leave a Reply

