NaPoWriMo #10

I wrote this poem yesterday after work.  There’s a park and sports field near my day job that I just started exploring this week.  It is also home to the local rugby football club, which has a private parking spot surrounded by some park trails.  I sat on a big rock near the parking lot writing this poem.

Solitude in the little park

your private parking holds no sway here
at the trail-mouth of a public park
but for your private cigarette butts
snubbed out in the dry dirt
and there is no one here
but birds calling
even the steady rumble of cars
from the roads close by
dissipate among the trees
a tranquil white noise
and here I can not be
and be  ─wash out my essence
with rocks and trees
so much bigger      so much wiser
than me.

© 2015 by Robin A. Sams

p.s.  The final “me” is supposed to be smaller than the rest of the text, but I can’t seem to get the text size to change on here.

Leave a Reply

