NaPoWriMo #18

Today’s poem needs more work.  However, here is what I wrote of it today.

I am holding on to a dream of August
sweeter than amber agave flowing
into my baking
and more precious
despite how I disappoint
myself

gasping under the weight
of The Way Things Are
barely here    barely able
to push   on

you are quieter now
more tired each day
shifting this hand away
from the place where we played

promises promises
to my greedy ache
please keep
keep your promises.

© 2015 by Robin A. Sams

Leave a Reply

