NaPoWriMo #19

Last night, I decided to try my hand at a blackout poem, using Piers Anthony’s Xanth novel Isle of View.   I loved Xanth novels as an adolescent.  Last summer, out of nostalgia, I re-read The Color of Her Panties.  Yikes.  The misogyny is strong with this one.

I remember what I loved about the series, though.  The puns.  The puns won me over.  I also loved the compassion of the author, who helped a fan who had been in a terrible accident by making her a character in the series (Jenny Elf).

There was a scene in The Color of Her Panties where Mela Merwoman and Ida Ogress are talking, and Mela makes a comment that men make things/conversations/everything “more interesting.”  Yeah.

The Color of Her Panties will be facing my black permanent markers sometime soon.  Oh, yes.  I have plans for you, my pretty.

Anyway, today’s poem.  Here it is:

blackoutpoem

© 2015 by Robin A. Sams

Leave a Reply

