NaPoWriMo #21

I had the idea for this poem last night, thinking about a friend who defriended me from Facebook for reasons unknown.

Defriended

happy birthday to you,
my oldest friend no longer
since last fall.
I e-mailed you to tell me
why
did I say something
did you mistake something
was I all wrong in my skin?

I hear you’re back
where we started now
back where we played at your house
where I missed you
when you moved and switched schools
where I came home
to play bridesmaid
in your wedding
─I was glad when you said
it first:  five minutes in,
these glass slippers are killing my feet.

how far I fled
the bonds of that closeted
little town clustered
with other little towns
for my health
finally, for love.

oldest friend, maybe
we were just
never close enough.

© 2015 by Robin A. Sams

Leave a Reply

