NaPoWriMo #22

Happy Earth Day!  I endeavoured to follow today’s NaPoWriMo prompt by looking out the window.  However, the poem had other ideas.  Also, I’ve been listening to Florence + the Machine’s new single “Ship to Wreck” for the last couple days. (Trigger warning:  that video link contains scenes of domestic violence-dance.)

on a sunny day

sun, give me sun
burst through the rain
like Florence singing
fighting her heart
smashed against the wall

light, fill me with light
shine out all the shadows
that crush me to tears
all the day to the pillow’s
damp recitations

love, grant me love
flash through this agony
of living and dragging
my feet and all I could be
in this glorious passion

© 2015 by Robin A. Sams

Leave a Reply

