NaPoWriMo #29

Only one more day of NaPoWriMo?  Is it true?  It’s true.

I was going to follow today’s prompt and write a poem in the form of a review.  Then I saw a particular tweet regarding Toya Graham, the Baltimore mother who hit her son and removed him from the riot.  This poem isn’t about her and isn’t a commentary on her parenting.  It’s about a particular tweet, a particular attitude, a particular opinion.

Facing the Rod

“any parent who spares the rod
hates their children,”
he tweeted.
Nope.  And nope.

I hate my daughter
because I won’t unleash violence
on her young body
on her mind still growing,
the world slowly unfolding in her brain?

I should teach her pain,
break her trust of me
whose job is to protect as best I can,
break the bond we forged in perfect love
at the breast,
fill her with humiliated hatred
for the hands that once cradled her
to sleep in the night?

The world will teach her
soon enough
to cry   to sob until she feels her body will break
to rip oppression with her rage
to shout helplessly
at unhearing ears
to hurt in a thousand ways
before nightfall.

That is not my job.
My job is to teach her
how to survive it

and thrive.

© 2015 by Robin A. Sams

Leave a Reply

