What’s going on, March?

Once again, I’ve gotten out of the habit of blogging regularly.  I do tweet regularly, so if you are eager to keep up with me, you can check out my Twitter account here.

This month, I participated in a collaborative novel project through the Collaborative Writing Challenge. Last August, I signed up to write a chapter for the newest project, a fantasy novel titled Wych Born.  I was quite excited at the time, as I was already working on my own fantasy novel and doing a collaborative project sounded interesting.  We the writers got to vote on the starter chapters (and, later, cover art).

In this case, a western-style chapter won, throwing the novel into a fantasy western story.  I admittedly had some apprehension after this, as I am not a fan of most westerns.  The weeks went by.  I lost track of the chapter summaries, as I was more focused on my novel and on my offline life.  Then my turn to write came up earlier this month.

I got caught up on the chapter summaries and notes.  I still was uncertain about this story.  In the end, I decided to take the challenge and wrote the chapter.  The way this challenge works, multiple people write a particular chapter.  The story coordinator then decides which chapter fits the story best or moves it in the right direction.

I decided to view the chapter as a challenge.  Could I write something in a genre in which I have little interest?

The answer is yes.

And, to my surprise and amusement, the story coordinator loved my chapter (with some edits so it flowed better with the rest of the story).  My Chapter 25 will appear in the finished Wytch Born novel.

Take-away from this experience:  challenge yourself to write outside your comfort zone.  You might be pleasantly surprised.

As March is drawing to a close, I’ve been thinking about NaPoWriMo.  For the past three years, I’ve taken part in that daily poetry-writing challenge.  This year, however, I have decided not to take part.  I still have a good deal of work to do on my novel, and I want to focus on it.

I’m sure poems will still sneak into my days, though.

 

 

One thought on “What’s going on, March?

Leave a Reply

