NaPoWriMo #1

Hello, my blog readers.  It has been months since I’ve blogged.  I have written very little for months.  Life is too big for words sometimes.  It’s a funny thing.  Sometimes life is so big, and I need the words pouring across pages.  Other times, life is so big, and the words are sparse.

However, inspired by a friend and a boyfriend, I have decided to take part in NaPoWriMo again this year.  (I didn’t do it last year, as I was focusing on a novel I have yet to complete.)  I want to get back into the habit of writing regularly, and this seemed like a great opportunity to do it.

So here is my first poem for the month, following NaPoWriMo’s early bird prompt of a haibun:

you turn the knobs, and hot water cascades down your arm.  a first shower.  together.  we strip quick and get in, dancing around who will be under the showerhead.  making up after breaking up on this strange night.  your arms circle me with warmth from within

without was so cold
shivers scavenged my body
this night manifold.

© 2017 by Robin A. Sams

Leave a Reply

